Home

..and I sort of don’t miss it. I still ate seafood, because frankly, I have no intention of giving that up. Some may rightfully argue that this choice makes going “vegetarian” easier, but nonetheless, I excluded all meat except for fish for the past 30 days. Before I get asked “well, what DID you eat?”, I kept a food journal along the way. Below is a comprehensive list of what I ate over the past 30 days.

Please note a little about me (some things can potentially indicate why this “transition” wasn’t as super difficult for me). Not as a conscious health decision, but just out of habit of how I’ve grown up, I (1) take a multivitamin everyday, (2) drink plenty of water, (3) I almost never eat white bread, white rice or use white sugar, (4) I don’t drink fruit juices, (5) the only fast food I ever consumed when cravings hit is plain pizza and five guys burgers and nothing else, (6) I drink a wide variety of herbal teas twice a day, (7) the only alcohol I drink (90% of the time) is wine, mostly white, and (8) there is no such thing as breakfast, lunch and dinner for me. I eat any food at any meal time.

Anyway, here it is. I’m going for another month and I hope to learn even more through trying a lot more new foods, experimenting with different tastes and focusing a little more than I have previously on getting the most nutrition in each meal. But for anyone considering trying this; it really hasn’t been as difficult as imagined. Go for it.

Breakfasts

– 7 grains bread or 9 mixed grains bread, toasted with almond butter or vegetable cream cheese or whipped butter

– Kashi 7 grain cereal with almond milk

– Special K cereal with almond milk

– Egg white omelette with peppers, tomatoes and onions

– quinoa/flaxseed pancakes with honey

– sweet plantains in olive oil

Lunches

– grilled salmon with brown rice or quinoa or wheat bread

– grilled shrimp with salad or brown rice

– grilled vegetable panini

– Chipotle veggie bowl with guacamole

– salad with apples, walnuts, feta cheese and basil vinaigrette

– salad with peppers, kale, cheddar cheese, onions, broccoli, chick peas

– salad with mangoes, peppers, almonds, arugula and balsamic vinaigrette

– vegetable quesadilla

– tuna salad

– vegetarian pita with hummus

Snacks

– cinnamon cayenne almonds

– Chobani yogurt

– vegan cookies

– Luna nutrition bar

– toasted oatmeal bar

– fruit salad

Dinners

– spinach quiche

– vegetable stir fry

– sweet potato/carrot/barley soup

– vegetables/lentil soup

– tuna with daal and brown rice

– pad thai with tofu

– string beans with brown rice

– whole wheat pasta with peppers in vodka sauce

– dahl puri

Teas

– lemon ginseng

– green

– earl grey

– cocoa spice

– green chai

– peppermint

– ginger

– hibiscus

– echinacea

Beverages

– Quinoa Gold drink

– aloe vera juice

– Green Machine Naked Juice

– Red Machine Naked Juice

– coconut water

– Cellnique Super Green drink

– water, water, water

Smoothies

– blueberry/raspberry/strawberry/raisin/granola

– blueberry/banana/pineapple/protein powder/bee pollen

– banana/almond milk/spirulina/protein powder

– almond/cashew/macadamia/chia seeds/banana

2 thoughts on “It’s Been a Month Since I Last Ate Meat..

Leave a comment